Exhibitions

On Foraging: Food Knowledge and Environmental Imaginaries in the UAE's Landscape

9 October - 25 December
10:00 - 20:00

Add to Cart (Free)
  • 1 Ticket
  • 2 Tickets
  • 3 Tickets
  • 4 Tickets
Loading
On Foraging: Food Knowledge and Environmental Imaginaries in the UAE's Landscape

To forage is to search for potential in a landscape, spurred on by a lingering sense of the unknown. On Foraging explores the nuances of what it means to be in constant search of nurturing and feeding, for the individual and the collective, within seemingly arid environments. On Foraging explores the long and multifaceted history of an environment that has for generations fed its own people and others in a rich variety of ways. There are deep reserves of cultural and agricultural knowledge that have been passed down through generations that continue to be tapped into and added to today and On Foraging reveals the work that goes into unearthing the landscape through a confluence of personal and collective narratives. Our project  foregrounds these moments and for what it means to nurture across multiple scales. 

 

Our research and conversations have illuminated three entangled registers in which food knowledge performs. First, we discovered how domestic food production in private farms reveals narratives of intergenerational learning and kinship. Second, we identified how entrepreneurial farming, including organic, hydroponic, and oyster farming, creates alternative food narratives within arid environments. Finally, we observed the ways in which the supply of produce is addressed and confronted at the national register, specifically around the development of language that suggests a collective responsibility.

 

The artworks displayed in this exhibition highlight and amplify these entanglements. The questions and narratives that they reveal are particularly timely given the rising challenges of reclaiming narrative as well as global issues around climate change. This is a call for historical food knowledge to be brought forward, reexamined, and rediscovered.

 

Curators: Dima Srouji, Faysal Tabbarah, and Meitha Almazrooei

 

Photo Credits

ABDULLAH AL SAADI

Sweet Potatoes, 2016-2019

Sizes Vary
Charcoal drawings, Tin Boxes

On loan from the Artist


In-Gallery Activity

Families are invited to explore our exhibition and make art together, using material that engage Warehouse421’s exhibition. This in-gallery activity will be self-led and will include educational leaflets and props suitable for 7–12 year-olds, available at Warehouse421 Reception.


Exhibition Guided Tours

The Exhibition Guided Tours takes around 45 minutes long and is led by Warehouse421 Docents. Our Knowledgeable Docents will guide you through the exhibition and will highlight the artworks, artists and the curators of the exhibition. Tours are tailored as per audience segment,and are held in either Arabic or English.You can find dates, timing, and language in the calendar. Please note to register in advance, the tours are free of charge! Sunday & Tuesday.

 

Tactile Station & Book - On Foraging Exhibition

The Tactile Books are part of Warehouse421’s strategy to inclusivity in our offerings. This project aims to initiate a mediation point using illustrated educational booklets. These booklets are designed for children with visual impairments to widen their visual and verbal literacy skills in art. The projects are in collaboration with SEDRA Foundation for Inclusion, and designed by our former intern, Amna Al Memmari, with support of Fatema (Last Name).


Audio Guide

Warehouse421 Audio Guide will be available to enrich audiences' experience by highlighting some artworks of the exhibition. This project is in collaboration with SEDRA Foundation for Inclusion, and designed to allow development for visual stimulation of artworks on display.

معارض

بحث وقطاف: المعرفة الغذائية والتصور البيئي في الطبيعة الجغرافية الإماراتية

9 أكتوبر - 25 ديسمبر
10:00 - 20:00

أضف تذكرة (مجاناً)
  • 1 تذكرة
  • 2 تذاكر
  • 3 تذاكر
  • 4 تذاكر
Loading
بحث وقطاف: المعرفة الغذائية والتصور البيئي في الطبيعة الجغرافية الإماراتية

يجسد معرض "بحث وقطاف" بحثاً عن الإمكانات في مشهد ما، والذي ينبع من إحساس مجهول يلازمك لمدة طويلة؛ إذ يستكشف العناصر الدقيقة لما يعنيه البحث المستمر عن الغذاء والرعاية - من أجل الفرد والمجموعة - في بيئات تبدو قاحلة، ويستطلع التاريخ الطويل متعدد الأوجه للبيئة التي ظلت لمدة طويلة تُنتج الغذاء لأجيال متعاقبة وتمد شعبها والشعوب الأخرى بالغذاء من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الأساليب الثرية. هناك مخزون ثري من المعرفة الثقافية والزراعية تناقلته الأجيال يعود بالنفع على الجميع ويضاف إلى المعارف في الوقت الحاضر، حيث يكشف المعرض عن الجهد المبذول من أجل جني خيرات الأرض من خلال التقاء السرديات الشخصية والجماعية، ويُبرز ما يعنيه الإمداد بالغذاء على عدة نطاقات.

 

سلَّطت أبحاثنا وحواراتنا الضوء على ثلاثة سجلات متداخلة تؤدي فيها المعرفة الغذائية دورها، أولاً: اكتشفنا سرديات التعلُّم والتضامن الأسري المتداولة عبر الأجيال التي كشفت عنها عملية إنتاج الغذاء في المزارع الخاصة محلياً. ثانياً: حددنا كيفية خلق المشروعات الزراعية الريادية، بما في ذلك زراعة المحاصيل العضوية والزراعة المائية وزراعة المحار، سرديات غذائية بديلة في البيئات القاحلة. ثالثاً: لاحظنا الأساليب التي تتم من خلالها معالجة الإمداد بالمحاصيل ومواجهته على مستوى السجل الوطني، وتحديداً تطوير اللغة التي تحث على المسؤولية الجماعية

تُسلِّط الأعمال الفنية المعروضة في هذا المعرض الضوء على هذه التداخلات وتُبرزها. وتأتي الأسئلة والسرديات التي تكشف عنها هذه الأعمال في الوقت المناسب بصفة خاصة؛ نظراً للتحديات المتزايدة بشأن استعادة السردية، بالإضافة إلى القضايا العالمية المتعلقة بتغيُّر المناخ. ويُعد المعرض دعوةً لتقديم المعرفة الغذائية التاريخية وإعادة تفحصها واكتشافها.

 

القيِّمون الفنيون على المعرض: ديمة سروجي، فيصل طبارة، ميثاء المزروعي.


تم ابتكار هذا المشروع بتكليف من معرض421.

 

 

عبدالله‭ ‬السعدي

البطاطا‭ ‬الحلوة،‭ ‬2016‭ - ‬2019

الأحجام‭ ‬متنوّعة
رسومات‭ ‬بالفحم،‭ ‬وعلب‭ ‬الصفيح

بإذن‭ ‬من‭ ‬الفنان


دليل أنشطة المعرض:
نتشرف بحضور العائلات للتجول في معرضنا والاستمتاع معاً بالفنون باستخدام المواد التعليمية التي يعمل بها المعرض التابع لمعرض421
لن تتبع دليل أنشطة العرض أي برنامج. وستشمل الأنشطة منشورات تعليمية وأدوات مناسبة للأعمار من 7-12 عاماً ويمكن الحصول عليها من مكتب استقبال معرض421.


الجولات الإرشادية للمعرض
تستغرق الجولات الإرشادية للمعرض التي يقودها المرشدون الثقافيون لمعرض421 حوالي 45 دقيقة يأخذك مرشدو المعرض الثقافيون خلالها في جولة داخل المعرض مسلطين الضوء على الأعمال الفنية والفنانين ومنظمي المعرض.
تم تصميم الجولات وفقاً لشريحة الجمهور. وتقام الجولات باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. يمكنك العثور على تاريخ الجولات وتوقيتها واللغة المستخدمة بها في جدول المعرض. يرجى التسجيل مسبقاً، مع العلم أن الجولات مجانية. تتوفر الجول في كل يوم الأحد و ثلاثاء.


محطة اللمس والكتب – معرض بحث وقطاف
تمثل الكتب اللمسية جزءً من استراتيجية معرض 421 لدمج جميع فئات المجتمع في البرامج والفعاليات، حيث يهدف هذا المشروع إلى إطلاق أرضية مشتركة باستخدام كتيبات تعليمية مصورة مصممة للأطفال الذين يعانون من إعاقات بصرية، وذلك بهدف تعزيز مهارات القراءة البصرية واللفظية لديهم في الفن. تأتي هذه المشاريع بالتعاون مع مؤسسة سدرة لدمج أصحاب الهمم، وبتصميم متدربتنا السابقة آمنة المعماري بدعم من فاطمة.


الدليل الصوتي
يتوفر الدليل الصوتي لمعرض 421 لإثراء تجربة الجمهور من خلال تسليط الضوء على بعض الأعمال الفنية في المعرض. ويأتي هذا المشروع بالتعاون مع مؤسسة سدرة لدمج أصحاب الهمم، وصُمم لإفساح المجال أمام تطوير تحفيز بصري للأعمال الفنية المعروضة.